Make-Ahead Breakfast Omelet Muffins

Hi everyone!! I’ve got a super special treat for you: a guest contributor!! My mother, Chris, is a fellow homesteader in South Georgia. She and my father have about 8 acres they lovingly call Daisy Acres, named after their chocolate lab Daisy. They have a large garden, fruit trees, berry bushes, and now they have their own chickens. After getting more eggs than they can use and both of them working full-time, she decided to make both situations easier This recipe has gotten a LOT of positive feedback, so she thought she’d share it with all of you. I can’t wait for you to try these muffins! Easy-peasy and super yummy!

Homesteading can be a lot of work, especially when you work full-time outside the home, but it can also be quite rewarding. That is why we do it after all, isn’t it? Last Fall, we added a small flock of laying hens to our ever-growing list of homesteading “projects”, and I can honestly tell you I absolutely LOVE these girls and their quirky personalities. And once you start eating farm fresh eggs, the grocery store ones suddenly seem so… ICK! So I welcomed the opportunity to get my very own farm fresh eggs to be able to use. Even through the winter and all the stress and adjustments they endured, we were getting an egg or 2 a day, sometimes 3! It was a slow, steady stream of fresh eggs that we could use at our leisure. Nice!

Although there were quite a few trials and tribulations in the beginning, they seem to have really settled in now and have started cranking out eggs faster than I can dig out another 18-count carton. I only have 6 hens, but all of them have matured enough to start laying. It is not unusual for me to get 4 or 5 eggs a day. I even got 6 eggs one day while Petunia was suddenly busy being “Little Miss Broody Butt” and not even laying! Really, ladies? It’s not even Spring yet!!

fotor_148979452041526.jpg

Little Miss Broody Butt herself! She finally starts laying and then decides she wants to be a mom!

Needless to say, it didn’t take long for us to end up with quite an accumulation of eggs, particularly since I don’t get to cook with them every day. Eventually, you run out of family and friends to give eggs to until they need to restock, so it wasn’t long before I started searching for recipes on Pinterest that used up a LOT of eggs at one time (I absolutely LOVE Pinterest!!)… and I am SO glad I found these! They are SCRUMPTIOUS, are a great option for grabbing breakfast “on the go”, and can be made up in bulk and frozen. What’s not to love?

The original recipe only called for using 6 eggs, which yields 9 muffins, and was very non-descriptive as to the quantities of the “filling” ingredients used, so I had to do some experimenting. Anyone who knows me knows that I just can’t leave a recipe well enough alone anyway, so, of course, I doubled it right off the bat, fiddled around with filling ingredients and –sure enough- got 18 moist, fluffy and absolutely delicious muffins.

I also use this recipe as an opportunity to especially use up a lot of the eggs my pullet, Petunia, gives me. She just started laying in January and then went broody in February (Seriously?), so they are still small. I count 2 of her eggs as 1 egg, so I take advantage of being able to empty out as many cartons as I can.

wp-1489793864002.jpg

A size comparison between a regular-sized brown egg from Ginger and a smaller blue egg from Petunia. Petunia’s will get bigger in time.

Pretty much, any ingredients you would put in an omelet, you can put in these. Meats and veggies must be fully cooked first (with the exception of frozen chopped spinach, which only needs thawed, drained and all the water squeezed out), so prep time will vary according to the ingredients you decide to use. This is the recipe for mine for 18 muffins.

wp-1489796476921.jpg

Egg Mixture

12 eggs
1 cup low-fat or skim milk
Seasonings to taste – I use salt, pepper, garlic powder and Italian seasoning

Combine egg mixture ingredients into large glass bowl, whisking well.

wp-1489793969531.jpg

I use my large glass measuring bowl for easier pouring.

Filling

1 8-oz. pkg. fully-cooked diced ham or 1 pkg. mild pan sausage, browned well & drained
1/2 pkg. bacon (not thick sliced), cooked crisp and crumbled
1/2 pkg. frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained and all liquid squeezed out
4 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese, saving out 1 cup for topping

wp-1489794070754.jpg

Don’t let the quantities shown here freak you out. I was preparing to make quadruple batches of 2 different kinds. A HUGE undertaking, but I got 6 dozen muffins made up for future breakfasts! A productive way to spend a cold, rainy day if you ask me!

Once you have all your filling ingredients cooked and ready, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray your muffin pan cups with non-stick spray.

wp-1489793752325.jpg

Yes, I absolutely LOVE my new Wilton 24-cup muffin pan! Heavy duty, cooks very evenly, and cuts cooking time significantly when doing bulk batches! I love it so much, I’ve included a link at the bottom where you can get your own!

Mix all filling ingredients together well in a mixing bowl, remembering to save out some sharp cheddar cheese for the topping. (The amount of cheese used is only a suggestion. Use more or less, depending on how much of a little rat you prefer to be. As far as I’m concerned, there is NEVER such a thing as “too much cheese”. LOL)

Using a large tablespoon, drop filling into muffin cups by large, heaping spoonfuls, dividing evenly into 18 cups.

wp-1489793651829.jpg

Keeping egg mixture mixed up well (some seasonings tend to float or sink), SLOWLY pour into muffin cups, filling 2/3 to 3/4 full (they fill up quicker than you would think). Using a toothpick or butter knife, gently mix filling throughout egg mixture for more even distribution in your muffins. Top with reserved sharp cheddar cheese.

wp-1489793529407.jpgwp-1489794181657.jpg

Bake 10 minutes, then rotate pan around 180 degrees and bake another 10 minutes. Remove from oven, and let cool for 5 minutes before lifting up and removing from pan using a butter knife or small spatula. Cool completely on a cookie sheet in a single layer before refrigerating or freezing. (I line my cookie sheet with waxed paper.)

wp-1489794266627.jpg

You will notice the muffins erupting out of the muffin cups as they bake, but don’t freak out that you filled them too full. They will settle back down as they cool!

And there you are! DONE! If you are doing a bulk baking like I did, you will be filling and baking for a little while, but just be sure to allow each batch to cool in a single layer before stacking them or putting them up. I packed them up in freezer containers that would hold 1 dozen muffins – 6 ham and 6 sausage – and made sure to leave a dozen out for the fridge. Simply warming them up in the microwave for 30 seconds or so will return them to their fresh-out-of-the oven moist, fluffy, ooey goodness, but they are even good cold straight out of the fridge!

wp-1489794372714.jpg

As you can see, it doesn’t take long for them to start disappearing as there are already 3 missing! So always be sure to save some out for instant devouring!

Give them a try and tell me what you think! Or let me know which filling ingredients you used and how they turned out. I love that this recipe has so much versatility, and would love to try new combos!

Happy eating!!

wp-1489794433414.jpg

Leave a Reply

