Easy Homemade Eggnog

Eggnog is definitely one of those things that people either really love or really hate. I fall into the prior category. I wait until December to drink eggnog. Really, I could make this any time I want to, but it just doesn’t feel the same drinking it in July. It’s also unbearable in July, so who really wants to drink something so heavy and rich? So this is my little December treat.

The stuff from the grocery store is kinda gross though. I’ve had it in a pinch, but now…eh. It just doesn’t appeal to me when I know how good mine is. It brings up all sorts of happy memories. My mother used to make up a batch of eggnog on Christmas Eve. I remember how hard she worked on it and how delicious it would taste. And since it’s made with cream and lots of milk, it was a good way to get me to fall asleep quickly!

Neither my husband or my mother-in-law have ever had homemade eggnog, so I decided to indulge them. I’m pretty sure they’re not going to be going back to store-bought any time soon! And since we have a TON of fresh eggs from my hens, why not make as much as we want?

*Note: This recipe is made virgin, meaning non-alcoholic. It’s great for sipping on and letting the kids have some. But should you decide to spike your own cup, I recommend rum or bourbon…a little goes a long way.

eggnogtitle

Ingredients

  • 8 eggs, separated
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3-1/2 cups granulated white sugar (this is really to taste; I usually do 1/2 cup)
  • 1/2-1 tsp nutmeg (I usually do a whole tsp)
  • 1/4 tsp allspice

Making the Yummy Goodness

Since you have your eggs separated, go ahead and whip those egg whites until peaks form. This will take a while, so I highly recommend using a mixer on medium-high for about 4 minutes. Otherwise you’ll have some really amazing muscles (and lack of feeling) in just one arm. Thank goodness for modern appliances! Set aside.

knuckles02

Hopefully you’ll be able to make this without as much help as I got. 

Whisk the egg yolks and sugar together until creamy. Add in the cream, milk, vanilla, and spices until everything is nicely blended.

When that’s finished stir in the egg whites.

eggnog01

And that’s it! You’re done! Unless…

Unless you want to pasteurize your eggnog to prevent any sort of salmonella issue. I used eggs from my hens, so I know how sanitary they are. But to be on the safe side, or if you are using store-bought eggs, you’ll want to pasteurize them. This means you have to heat up the whole thing. Ready?

Get out your handy-dandy thermometer. A candy or fryer thermometer work well for this since they usually have a small clip to hold it in place on the pot, however a meat thermometer will work as well.

eggnog02

Pour the entire batch of eggnog in a large pot and begin to heat just above the simmer setting. You don’t want to cook the eggs, only heat them up, so make sure your heat isn’t too high. Stir very frequently to prevent scorching and watch the thermometer like a hawk. Once it reaches 140ºF, you’re done. Remove it from heat and let it cool.

Once it’s cooled, you can transfer it into the dispenser of your choice (mine was a pickle jar I usually use to make sun tea) and chill for 1-2 hours.

eggnog03

After it’s chilled, drink up!! You can also garnish the top of your eggnog with a sprinkle of cinnamon or nutmeg for extra flavor and yumminess!

Leave a Reply

