It’s the Craziest Time of the Year

I tell you what, it has been a crazy week!!! It’s been fun and productive, but there definitely hasn’t been a lot of time to hold still and write. My mornings have been spent crawling out of bed and getting to work before the coffee is done, and I’m lucky if I stay awake until 11:00!

craziesttime

Last Sunday, we bundled up and went on a toy run. Basically, a bunch of bikers join together and ride for a cause. This particular cause: the Valley Rescue Mission in Columbus, Georgia. We all brought toys, stored as safely as possible so they didn’t get wet on the bikes, and rode from Macon to Columbus, easily a 2-hour trip. It never got above 50 degrees and, if it wasn’t raining, the air was just super damp. As miserable as the weather was that day, Mr. Cozy Cottage and I had a blast. More on that event here.

124review01

My truck went into the shop on Monday. We are down to just one 4-wheeled vehicle for the time being, so it was a horrible time for it to go in. They had to order a part, which meant it was there overnight…which meant….

On Tuesday, we had to ride in the rain to Mr. Cozy Cottage’s doctor’s appointment. Giving toys to kids is a pretty good excuse for being wet and cold if you ask me. But just going around town, not so much. Fortunately, by the time we left it was warming up and the sun was out. Oh, one of my friends had her baby that night. She is precious!

Wednesday was errand day. It wasn’t too shabby this week, but I ended up treating a chicken with the sniffles, so I don’t classify it as one of my favorite days.

I finished my to-do list in record time on Thursday! This never happens. So Mr. Cozy Cottage decided to put up a swing for my chickens (such spoiled girls!).

chickenswing

This is Jessi, my big black australorp. She LOVES to swing!

3:00 AM on Friday morning, Knucklehead announced she was entering her first heat. Yay. I was able to go back to sleep, but not for long. I finally caved and started my day, which was going to be busy preparing for the 24 degree low (for Georgia, that’s really low). I took Mr. Cozy Cottage to work, did some shopping, and came home to the wonderful smells of my mother-in-law’s chili on the stove. After temporarily winterizing the house and stacking as much firewood inside as possible, we hunkered down for the night in front of the fire with a cup of hot tea.

knuckles01

I didn’t wrap her in garland. She did that all by herself. We eventually gave up and just gave it to her. It was old anyway.

Saturday was spent crafting and wrapping presents. I still have a TON of crocheting to do, but I enjoy it, and so do the recipients. I absolutely hated going out to get more wood for the fireplace. While the thermometer said 25, the windchill definitely made it feel a lot colder. It was a good day for literally not leaving the house. Like, at all. I did, however, help my mother-in-law prepare a delicious white chocolate cranberry cake for her church social. Deargawdinheaventhatmessisgood!!! It’s so rich and so sweet, and would pair perfectly with a cup of black coffee. Unfortunately, it’s not gluten-free, so Mr. Cozy Cottage can’t even eat a crumb. I will be working on a gluten-free version in the next couple of weeks, so be on the lookout because this cake is divine!

wchoccrancake01

Yesterday, Sunday, I continued my crochet and I made some delicious homemade eggnog! And the eggs were from MY chickens, so it made it extra special. It made half a gallon, but it was nearly gone by the time we went to bed!! The recipe for the eggnog will be up tomorrow, so I hope you check in!

eggnog01

This one was virgin…teehee!

This week is shaping up to be rather crazy too. We have several people coming over on different days to hang out and share some holiday cheer! And I have LOTS of baking to do! I hope your week has been fantastic, and I look forward to sharing our favorite holiday recipes with you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

