Bean and Sausage Soup: A Pressure Cooker Recipe

seracres01

Here at Serenity Acres, we may be in Georgia, but we still get cool temps. It’s getting down to 48 tonight. Not too bad until you realize that we’re used to dealing with temperatures of 100+ degrees and at least 80% humidity. Regardless, it’s time for soup!

Mr. Cozy Cottage swears by my soups. I season them up strong and they warm you up from the outside in. Bonus, I use tons of garlic and oregano, so if you’re coming down with something, the soup works as a natural antibiotic. Woohoo!!

Well, last year, Mr. Cozy Cottage got me a pressure cooker for Christmas. I was absolutely terrified of it. It started building up pressure and whistling and I had never even been around one so I thought it was going to explode. I held my breath as I peeked around the door to the kitchen. I’ve gotten used to it, let me tell you! I cook everything in there, from dog food to sides and veggies to meat. Done in half the time too! Needless to say, it takes no time to cook dried beans or make broth.Which is exactly what I plan to do today!

Okay, well, I cheated and bought broth. I’m sure we will all survive. But, side note, Progresso broth is gluten free with no MSG!

progresso

 

sausbeansouptitle

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups dried pinto beans, rinsed and sorted
  • enough water to cover beans by 1″
  • the equivalent of 2 polska kielbasa sausage horseshoe links, or your favorite kind of sausage, cooked and sliced – I also cut my slices in half
  • 1 32 oz carton chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp garlic
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

What to do

Pour the dried beans into the cooking pot and cover with water. There needs to be at least 1″ of water above the beans, as they will puff up as they soak.

SoakingBeans.jpg

 

Put the lid on the pressure cooker and close the pressure valve. Turn it to “Warm” for 1 hour. If you haven’t started to prepare your sausage, do so now.

prescookwarm

 

At the end of an hour, the beans should be fairly puffed up. It’s like they’ve been soaking overnight!

soaked-beans

 

Add in the carton of chicken broth, sausage, and seasonings. Stir well. Replace the lid with the closed pressure valve and set the timer for 20 minutes.

sausbeansoupmixed

 

It will take a bit to heat and get pressurized, but you’ll have a delicious and warm soup in no time! When it’s done, I let the pressure cooker release the pressure slowly, rather than using the quick manual release.

sausbeansoup03

Sometimes we do variations where we add green beans or carrots, change out the meats, use a different type of sausage, or a different type of bean. It always hits the spot! I’m always interested in different variations, so make sure you comment with what you changed!!

 

Leave a Reply

