Winter Bucket List Ideas

Ah…winter. The time for cozy fires, snuggly sweaters, cute hats and scarves, hot cocoa, and building snowmen.

Except I live in Georgia.

For those of you who actually have what is dubbed a “real” winter – steady temps that are consistently cold, snow, the need to bundle up every day – Georgia does not have a traditional winter. Georgia cannot make up its mind as to what season it is, and this changes daily. For example, 2 days ago I was sweating in a t-shirt and blue jeans with my hair pulled back. Today, I’m in wool socks, a sweater over a long-sleeved shirt, and the only way I’m pulling my hair off of my neck is if I’m replacing it with a scarf. Yeah. Welcome to Georgia.

But aside from the insane temperature differences and the ability to go through all 4 seasons and every possible weather pattern in the course of a week, we too have winter buckets lists. Feel free to swipe my list, add to it, take away from it…and if you have a fantastic idea of something you love to do, please add it to the comments below!

Note: Ones with a stike-through have already been done…and December just started!

Out and About

  • Go ice skating
  • Drive around or talk a walk and look at Christmas lights
  • Volunteer
  • Go on a toy run – hubby is a biker, so this is a big one on my bucket list
  • Donate food and/or toys to a local charity – this is a hard time of year for a lot of people; be kind
  • Join the fun for a New Year’s Eve party – or host one of your own!
  • Take a photo with Santa – I don’t know about you, but I am certainly never too old to do this!

Crafts

  • Make homemade eggnog – alcoholic or non…
  • Make homemade apple cider
  • Make paper snowflakes (this is a lot of fun for a date night!)
  • Make neighbor gifts – my neighbors love baked goods!
  • Build a gingerbread house – whether it’s in a kit or you actually bake the gingerbread, this can be a lot of fun! I have a kitten experiencing her first Christmas this year, so I won’t be doing this one, but I just can’t take it off my list!
  • Learn to sew or crochet and make one thing for everyone on your Christmas list
  • Bake cookies
  • Make cinnamon ornaments
  • Make your own snowglobe

At Home Sweet Home

  • Decorate the Christmas tree
  • Drink hot cocoa – don’t forget the marshmallows!
  • Watch Christmas movies – Santa Claus is Coming to Town and A Christmas Story are my personal favorites!
  • Write Christmas cards (and mail them out)
  • Eat a candy cane
  • Get a kiss under the mistletoe
  • Cuddle in front of a fire – we have a real fireplace this year, but last year we hooked up the computer to the TV and found a looped youtube video of a roaring fire!
  • Listen to Christmas music
  • Take Christmas pictures
  • Host an ornament or cookie exchange
  • Wrap Christmas presents
2 thoughts on “Winter Bucket List Ideas

Leave a Reply

