Homes, Chickens, & Really Big Plans

So…I’ve been away from the blog for over a month now, but I’ve got a really good reason.

We became homeowners!! We are now the proud owners of a larger house on 5 acres! WOOHOO!!!

How did this happen, you ask?

When our roommate decided to move out, we decided that it was time to move Mr. Cozy Cottage’s mom in with us. The downsides were that our place was still small, we really wanted a bigger place, and we didn’t want to make Mom move twice. So we hit the ground in a search to rent a bigger place. Suddenly, this house popped up in my search. We went out to see it, fell in love, bought it, and moved in! The previous tenants had planted a garden. I use that term loosely as it’s little more than some plants put in a long row, but we’re getting free tomatoes and peppers out of the deal, so I don’t care. They also had 10 chickens that we got in the deal, so we’re getting fresh eggs daily as well. Mom moved in with her little chihuahua Gidget, and everyone has been as happy as can be.

There was a lot of work to be done. On my end, it was tying up loose ends with the bills on the old house, turning everything on for the new, packing, and learning everything I could about keeping chickens. On Mr. Cozy Cottage’s end, he had to fence in the front yard for the puppies and build a chicken coop. Fortunately, the fencing was relatively inexpensive and all the materials for the coop (aside from nails and paint) were repurposed from all the stuff the previous tenants “built”. We got stopped by rain, so the coop isn’t quite finished. I’ll be sure to post when it’s done.

You’re going to see some very different posts now. We are not only homeowners; we are homesteaders. We are planning for a bigger flock and a bigger garden next year, which will call for chicken care and canning recipes (I’m excited about it, are you?). Foraging will become a definite thing since I’m already spotting muscadine vines and blackberry bushes on our land. And, of course, all natural pest control. We have snakes, all manner of invading bugs (currently, the problem is yellow jackets), and I’m sure a bigger flock and a more productive garden will bring in the racoons and coyotes. I’m really hoping those last two don’t come around…they are a pain to get rid of.

As great as I was at couponing, shopping sales, and being completely frugal, it’s more important than ever now. Not to mention the organization of a new house and fixing it up to our tastes. I’m doubling my efforts on both parts, and, let me tell ya, it’s a lot of work.

So stick with me, my wonderful readers. We’re going on an adventure. And like most things, I have no idea what I’m doing, just a rough guess of how it should work. I may be sporadic at first, but I hope you’ll keep following. There are some big things coming up and I’m excited to share them with you!

Leave a Reply

