Spaghetti with Zucchini Noodles

picsart_03-13-11.08.10.jpg

I love watching the “As Seen on TV” commercials. They are hilarious. I forget what the product was, but I just remember a woman comically mopping the kitchen floor with way too much dirty water, wondering why she couldn’t get it clean. But this miracle product for just $19.99 would solve that! How about just learning how to mop the right way….

Rant over, now, but it was relevant, I swear. I did it. I bought the thing that was on TV. I bought a Veggetti. In all fairness, before I had to get rid of all my delicious pastas, I was actually considering getting one. I love zucchini, which is funny because I used to be an anti-vegetable person. And now I can’t get enough fresh produce.

picsart_03-13-10.55.47.jpg

Not knowing how it would taste, we agreed to make a regular spaghetti to determine how it was and what other things the zucchini would go with. Mr. Cozy Cottage made the sauce (it’s REALLY good, even if it isn’t Mama’s), and I made the zucchini noodles with my brand new Veggetti. It’s worth every bit of the $15 it costs…once you get the hang of it. Here’s a couple tips:

  1. Start with the big end first. If you start grinding the skinny end of the zucchini first, when you stick the vegetable holder (comes with the Veggetti) in the big end, it just crumbles because it’s so soft.
  2. When you’re done making the pasta, you’ll be left with a cone shaped nub. Don’t throw it away. Slice it up like shoestring potatoes and toss it in with the pasta. You can’t tell the difference when it’s cooked.

So…take your favorite spaghetti sauce and prepare it how you usually would for regular spaghetti. Make your zucchini pasta and then boil it for 2-3 minutes. Drain, rinse, and fluff. Top with spaghetti sauce.

picsart_03-13-10.59.03.jpg

Another word of advice: don’t make your plate as big as you usually do. Believe it or not, the zucchini is WAY more filling, and you’ll only eat about half as much as usual.

I’m always interested to learn new things. What else do you do with your zucchini noodles? Or, better, do you make any other veggie noodles to eat with your spaghetti? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

