Easy Baked Lemon-Pepper Tilapia

photostudio_1456640044402.jpg

Fish is a great change of pace from our usual beef/chicken/pork dinner routine. It really breaks up the monotony. I buy a family size pack of individually sealed tilapia fillets from ALDI for about $6, and we get about 3 meals out of it. My go-to recipe is a delicious skillet blackened tilapia served over yellow rice and topped with a mango salsa. YUM! But it’s a pain in the butt when I’m exhausted already. As I’ve mentioned before, Mr. Cozy Cottage works 12 hour days, which means so do I. On the nights that I have to close at my part-time job, I’m already wiped by the time I get home, and I still have to cook dinner. Saturday night was definitely one of those nights. So instead of my normal recipe, I thought I could bake the tilapia and put my feet up for a while.

This is my new favorite as far as easy fish goes. Ready?

Baked Lemon Pepper Tilapia

Ingredients
Tilapia fillets (they’re small, so I usually plan 2 fillets per person)
Garlic Salt
Lemon Pepper
Butter (1/2 Tbsp per fillet)

photostudio_1456639001267.jpg

Go ahead and preheat your oven to 400ºF. You really don’t want the fish to be sitting around waiting to cook. Line a rimmed cookie sheet or a baking pan with foil (easy cleanup). The butter is going to melt everywhere, so you don’t want it spilling all over your oven. Spray with cooking spray.

Sprinkle the garlic salt and lemon pepper on both sides of the fillets. This is really all up to you. I don’t like a strong lemon flavor, so I used more garlic salt. If you’re not sure, just go easy on both and adjust the next time. After they are seasoned, top each fillet with 1/2 Tbsp of unsalted butter.

photostudio_1456639192386.jpg

If I was into raw fish, I would have eaten them at this point. They already looked and smelled amazing.

Cover the tray with foil and bake for 12-15 minutes. When tilapia is done, it will turn white and no longer be translucent.

Now go chill while you wait. You can squeeze in half a Family Guy episode at this point.

photostudio_1456639306609.jpg

All done!! Serve immediately. Any remaining fish (if there is any) can be refrigerated. To reheat, drizzle with a tiny bit of melted butter, cover with foil, and warm in the oven for a few minutes. Or you can just microwave it if you’re really feeling lazy. I won’t judge you. I do it all the time.

photostudio_1456639407784.jpg

Are you drooling yet??? I served the fish with white rice made in the pressure cooker and steam-in-a bag peas. Everything was done all at once in less than 20 minutes.

photostudio_1456639600823.jpg

I barely snagged a picture of this. Mr. Cozy Cottage walked in moments later and ate it all.

Hope y’all enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

