Chocolate Covered Strawberry Bundt Cake

chocolatetrawberrycakec

It’s Valentine’s Day!! And for you ladies out there, it’s difficult to find something to give a man for the “holiday of love” that isn’t ridiculously girly. I, like you, can’t stand that things are covered in hearts and pink when my man is covered in dirt and grease. So I go with a tried and true: The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. My “meat and potatoes” man has a strong sweet tooth. It’s a good thing I know how to bake. Bundt cakes are fairly easy (this said from someone whose cake always turned out horrible). Because of the pan is designed, it cooks more evenly than most other cakes. That being said, here is one of my favorite “accidents.”

There aren’t a lot of “happy accidents” in the kitchen. Most of them are fails, sad to say. This one, though, turned out to be perfect. It tasted like a chocolate covered strawberry…and the secret was yogurt.

chocolatestrawberrycake

I started out making my Sour Cream Chocolate Bundt Cake, and midway through I realized I was out of sour cream. We always have sour cream in our house, so it came as kind of a shock. So my next thought was plain yogurt. Well…drat. We were out of that too. I remembered substituting strawberry yogurt in an apple bundt cake I’d made a while back, so I thought I’d give it a try since I usually have plenty of that on hand.

The end result was a chocolate cake that was moist, rich, and tasted like a chocolate covered strawberry.

chocolatestrawberrycake02

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake

Ingredients:
2/3 c. softened butter (try not to use margarine; the flavor isn’t near as good)
2 eggs
2 c. strawberry yogurt
1 tsp. vanilla
1-3/4 c. sugar
1-3/4 c. flour
3/4 c. cocoa powder
1-1/2 tsp. baking sod
1/2 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 350°F. As I’ve said in other recipes, make the oven wait on you, not the other way around. Also, grease and flour your bundt pan and set aside.

In a large bowl (my Kitchenaid is great for this part), beat together butter, eggs, yogurt, vanilla, and sugar.

In a separate bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, and beat at medium speed for 3 minutes.

Pour the batter into your prepared pan and smooth out.

Bake for 45-55 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

When done, let the cake cool in the bundt pan on a cooling rack for at least 15 minutes before flipping over and removing from the pan.

chocolatestrawberrycake03

Because this cake was SO rich, I opted against a glaze. Instead I sprinkled some sifted powdered sugar on top. It was perfect!

However, should you decided to use your own favorite glaze, here’s a trick my brother (who makes THE BEST pound cake) taught me: once cooled, pop the cake into the refrigerator for about 20 minutes. This makes the surface of the cake cooler and your glaze hardens nearly instantly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

