What’s the Deal with Mug Cozies?

I’ve been crocheting for 20 years at this point. My grandmother taught me when I was 8, and I’ve been doing it nonstop since then. It’s been my creative outlet and a nice source of side income as a teenager. I’ve made hats, scarves, blankets, baby clothes….even a dog sweater. There’s a new trend that has emerged that I didn’t understand: mug cozies.

MugCozy

Honestly, folks, I thought that crocheting a sweater for your coffee cup was a bit too far. And then I got to thinking about it. For decades people have been using tea cozies on their teapots to keep their freshly brewed tea warm without having to reheat it every 10 minutes. I don’t know about you, but if my coffee or tea doesn’t scald the back of my throat, it’s just not hot enough. And in winter it seems to get cold faster than I can drink it. So I decided to give this mug cozy thing a try.

Guess what. It works. I slipped one onto my coffee cup this morning, poured myself a piping hot cup of black coffee, and went on about my morning. It takes me about 20 minutes to enjoy a cup because I’m catching up on Facebook, Pinterest-ing, or writing a blog. It normally cools down in about 10 minutes. Folks, this mug cozy allowed me to drink my coffee down to the last drop without needing to reheat it. Thus, it also saved me money by not having to use the microwave. And I’m all about saving money!!

MugCozy02

I’m now selling mug cozies in the Cozy Cottage Clan store. Pick yours up here.

Leave a Reply

