7 Shopping Apps that will Save You Money

ShoppingAppsMoney

I was discussing finances with Mr. Cozy Cottage the other day and he remarked on just how much money I was saving him by being in his life. Now that’s job security! It’s not that he was doing anything wrong per se, but he shopped like a guy. No offense to all you men out there, but most of y’all don’t really dive into the nitty gritty of shopping unless it’s power tools or big boy toys. So one of the first things I taught him was how to shop. Now, he’s a regular bargain hunter and is always bringing home the bacon (and the ham, and the boston butts, and the pork loins…) I’m so proud!!

ANYWAY, even now that our grocery bill is under $300 a month (that includes toiletries and household items) I’m still trying to find money. It’s always tucked somewhere. I’ve started using these 7 apps, and I’m really excited at how much I’ve already earned.
1. Shopkick

This is my FAVORITE app. It’s like a scavenger hunt while you’re doing your shopping.

How it works:
You turn on the Bluetooth feature of your phone and walk in whatever store you’re shopping. Kroger, Publix, Walmart, Target, and Best Buy all give you what they call “kicks” as soon as you walk in the door. There are a lot of stores that offer kicks at the entrance, so you can really rack up those points walking around the mall. In a lot of stores, they list certain items that you can scan for even more kicks. Just click on the item, scan the barcode, and move on to the next item! Sure people look at you weird when your phone makes a strange noise, but you’re saving money so don’t worry about them. Some of those items even earn you more kicks if you buy them. At that point, scan you’re receipt and you’ll receive your kicks within 24 hours.

How to cash out:
The kicks are points that you can trade in for gift cards and donations. And these are places you’ll actually visit: Walmart, Starbucks, Target, American Eagle, Marshalls. I’ve been using Shopkick for a little over a month just scanning items and I’ve already earned myself a $5 gift card to Walmart (it’s 1250 kicks). I’m not a big on shopping, but if you are you can earn kicks a lot faster!

2. Ibotta

This is also one of my favorites. It ranks right there with Shopkick, but this one actually gives you money back. My friend turned me onto this one, and I LOVE it. I saved $9 with my very first shopping trip!!

How it works:
Before your shopping trip, browse through the app and check out their offers. Once you unlock the offers, go shopping. When you return home, as you’re putting things away, verify your purchases with the offers on Ibotta by scanning them in. After you’ve verified all the matches, you scan your receipt. Voila! Money in your account. For example, you purchase a twin-pack of DayQuil and NyQuil. Scan the barcode on the back, scan your receipt, and they give you $3.00 in your Ibotta account.

How to cash out:
You must have a minimum of $20 to cash out, and the money is then transferred to your PayPal or Venmo account. Nice!!

3. Snap by Groupon

How It Works:
Snap is very much like Ibotta, but they don’t have as many offers. If you buy a lot of name brand items or health foods, it’s perfect for you. Most of my grocery items are off-brand, so I’ve only earned $.50 since I signed up, but I wanted to include it because others may have better luck.

How to Cash Out:
Like with most of these apps, you have to have a minimum of $20 built up to cash out. Snap will send you a check once you’re reached that amount and request it!

4. Swagbucks

How It Works:
Another favorite of mine, I managed to rack up a good about of points during Christmas. You can earn points through surveys, watching videos, or shopping at popular sites like Amazon if you go through their site.

How to Cash Out:
Much like Shopkick, you cash in for gift cards to popular stores. Since I started just before Christmas, I’m hoping that I’ll have earned enough to cash out some gift cards for this year’s Christmas shopping!

5. Checkout 51

How It Works:
Click your offers and then scan in your receipts!

How to Cash Out:
Once you build up $20, you can request to cash out and they’ll mail you a check. Woohoo, free money!!

6. Receipt Hog

How It Works:
This on is SUPER easy. There are no offers. You scan in your receipts – from even local stores – and earn coins depending on the amount of the purchase. I mean ALL receipts are accepted – gas stations, boutiques, Goodwill… everything. Sometimes you’ll even get lucky and they’ll reward you with playing their fun little slots game, where you have the chance to get even MORE coins!

How to Cash Out:
You can choose to have the money deposited into your PayPal account or go towards an Amazon gift card.

 

Leave a Reply

