Peanut Butter Oatmeal Treats for Dogs

PBOatmealPupCookiesC

Many people will agree with me when I say that my dogs are not “pets”, they are furry children. They have personalities and feelings and become little people to us. And like most pet parents, I was worried about what store-bought treats contain. Not to mention, they didn’t like half of what we bought them, and the remainder ended up in the trash after a couple months. Money down the the drain.

 

My mother (and my dog-sister Daisy) gifted the boys with a cute mason jar treat mix for Christmas 2014, and the boys went nuts over them when I made them. That got me thinking about concocting my own treats as I’m baking goodies for us. So I ended up with these. My boys absolutely love them!!

NubiTreat

“C’mon, Mom…hand over the cookies!”

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Treats

3 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup water
2 eggs
1 cup creamy peanut butter

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. I love letting the oven wait on me, instead of me waiting for it to heat up!

Mix all of the ingredients together. If you have a stand mixer, like a Kitchenaid, it makes this part much easier. I used my paddle attachment just to make sure everything got mixed in well.

Roll the dough out on a floured surface. I roll mine to 1/4″ thick because I use small cutters. But if you’re making them for a larger dog, you can roll them a bit thicker and use a larger cutter.

PBOatmealPupCookies02

Mr. Cozy Cottage bought me a giant set of cookie cutters (ya think that was a hint?) and it came with a lot of miniature ones that looked like the ones I use for us. How cute!!

Cut dough with the your chosen cookie cutters, or you can just cut them into squares (they hold their shape well).

Place on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 8 minutes. My cookies are soft, but if you want them to have a bit of crunch, you can cook them for a bit longer.

Let cool and proceed to spoil your fur-kids!

PBOatmealPupCookies01

These will keep for a few days in an unsealed container; any longer and they turn into pretty shaped rocks. Or you can store them in a sealed container in the refrigerator for a week. Because this recipe makes so many treats, I often only make a dozen or two and then freeze the rest of the dough in small batches so I can just thaw it out and bake more when I run out.

My boys beg for these things on an hourly basis when I bake them. Do you have any recipes that are favorites for your pups?

Leave a Reply

